Quality Assurance Techniques

Quality Assurance Techniques - Online Training Master

The world of Quality Assurance Techniques has evolved drastically. Software testing has emerged as an inevitable part of the software development process. Software quality assurance is a process that assures that all software engineering activities, work, processed and techniques are monitored and comply as per the defined industry standards. These defined quality assurance standards can be one or a combination of any such as ISO15504, ISO9000, CMMI model, etc.

When it comes to Software Quality Assurance, it integrates all types of software development processes ranging from defining requirements to coding until release. Its main goal is to ensure the quality of the final product.

Quality assurance techniques mentioned here are the primary techniques used while performing several software testing types during several stages of software testing levels:

Black Box Testing – A software testing technique in which the internal implementation/ design/ item/ structure being tested is unknown to the tester. These tests can be non-functional or functional. Test design methods include Cause-Effect Graphing, Boundary Value Analysis, Equivalence Partitioning.

White Box Testing – A software testing technique in which the internal design/ structure/ items/ implementation that is being tested is known to the tester. Test design methods include Path Testing, Control Flow Testing, Branch Testing, Data Flow Testing.

Gray Box Testing – It is a software testing technique in which a combination of Black Box Testing and White Box Testing methods are used.

Agile Testing – A software testing technique that works on the principles of agile software development.

Ad Hoc Testing – A software testing technique without any kind of documentation and planning.

A glance at different types of software testing

Here is a full list of some common types of Software Testing

Functional testing types comprise of the following:

  • Smoke Testing
  • Unit Testing
  • Interface Testing
  • System Testing
  • Beta/Acceptance Testing
  • Integration Testing
  • Sanity Testing
  • Regression Testing


Non-functional testing types comprise of:

  1. Volume Testing
  2. Performance Testing
  3. Compatibility Testing
  4. Load Testing
  5. Localization Testing
  6. Security Testing
  7. Recovery Testing
  8. Usability Testing
  9. Stress testing
  10. Compliance Testing
  11. Install Testing
  12. Reliability Testing

Functions of Quality Assurance

There are five main functions of quality assurance.

  • Validation – In this function, the validation master plan for the entire system is made. Approval for test criteria for validating process and product is set. Resource planning and preparation for the implementation of validation is done.
  • Technology Transfer – This function is all about getting a product design document along with the trial and error data and its assessment. The documents distributed, checked and approved.
  • Documentation – The main function is to control the archiving and distribution of documents. Any change or modification in a document is made by implementing the appropriate change control procedure.
  • Quality Improvement Plans
  • Assuring Quality of Products


At Online Training Master, we make sure that candidates proper understanding of the quality assurance techniques. Starting from the beginning of the software testing training course, the instructors and faculty strive to make understanding of the process simple. Enrolling for quality assurance training would help you gain clarity of quality assurance techniques.

Spread the love

QA Testing Online Training – Know About Software Quality, Quality Standard, and Role of Testing in QA!


Most working professionals know the significance of Quality Assurance In Software Testing. However, what most do not know is thatRead More QA Testing Online Training – Know About Software Quality, Quality Standard, and Role of Testing in QA!

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *